After spending …

After spending five hours working with someone yesterday, I am really beginning to recognize what I need to work on to be a better advocate, and that’s what this blog is all about.  I noticed myself acting more like a friend instead of being more professional and distance myself a little bit.  I guess the person was granted the protective order, so I did something right to help get that granted. So going forward I need to remember to take a step back and be very aware of how I’m coming across.  Also, I need to remember to breathe and think about what I say before I speak so I don’t overwhelm people or give too complicated of an answer.  While we were sitting waiting for the paperwork to be reviewed, the survivor thanked me for going with them and helping distract them while we waited by talking about silly things like hybrid cars and service animals.  It was nice to hear that I did something correctly and made a difference.  It’s nice to start doing things on my own and get a feel for my strengths & weaknesses and where I could improve, that’s the only way I’m going to get better!

About givethemstrength

This is my journey as a domestic and sexual violence advocate on a college campus. I will be talking about my daily struggles and accomplishments, but will not be giving any specifics or identifying information.

Leave a Reply

